Current Researchers

Portrait of 		Sean Patrick Whelan
Project Icon

LRAUV

Sean Patrick Whelan



swhelan@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Chris Reddy
Project Icon

LRAUV

Chris Reddy



creddy@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Leslie-Ann Mcgee
Project Icon

LRAUV

Leslie-Ann Mcgee



lmcgee@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Jessica Garron

Jessica Garron

ADAC Affiliate



jigarron@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Brenda Dunkle

Brenda Dunkle

ADAC Affiliate



brenda_dunkle@hotmail.com

Portrait of 		Scott Blough

Scott Blough

ADAC Affiliate



bloughs@tiffin.edu

Portrait of 		Joshua Michael House
Project Icon

Arctic GIS

Joshua Michael House



jmhouse@umd.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. Marcus Boyd
Project Icon

Arctic GIS

Dr. Marcus Boyd



blwoods@umd.edu

Portrait of 		Kelsey Frazier
Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

AOSM

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Kelsey Frazier

Research Associate


907.602.6543
kafrazier@alaska.edu

Kelsey “Doc Freeze” Frazier

Kelsey “Doc Freeze” Frazier is an avid Alaskan outdoorswoman but a consistently slow runner. She would argue, though, that being the slowest runner of the group means you get more time to enjoy being outside! It was her indefatigable love of all things outdoors that led Kelsey to pursue a career promoting both human and environmental safety. Kelsey began her tenure with ADAC as a fellow where she supported projects investigating oil spill remediation in the Arctic, the complexities of sea ice substructures, and where she laid the groundwork for what is now the Arctic Ice Condition Index (ARCTICE). After graduating in December of 2019 with her B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Kelsey continued in a new role at ADAC as a Research Associate. Currently she supports the advancement of the ARCTICE project, participates in an international sea ice modeling colloquium, and is working to develop new projects to support a safer Arctic region.
Portrait of 		Martin Cenek
Project Icon

Actic Sensors

Martin Cenek

Principal Investigator



Portrait of 		Dr. Lilian Na’ia Alessa
Project Icon

CBONS

Dr. Lilian Na’ia Alessa

Principal Investigator



Portrait of 		Craig Tweedie
Project Icon

ASIP

Craig Tweedie

Principal Investigator



ctweedie@utep.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. Jinlun Zhang
Project Icon

HIOMAS

Dr. Jinlun Zhang

Principal Investigator



zhang@apl.washington.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. Jifeng Peng
Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

AOSM

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Dr. Jifeng Peng

Principal Investigator



jpeng@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. Shawn Butler
Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Dr. Shawn Butler

Supporting Investigator



sabutler2@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. James Bellingham
Project Icon

LRAUV

Dr. James Bellingham

Principal Investigator



jbellingham@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Amy Kukulya
Project Icon

LRAUV

Amy Kukulya

Principal Investigator



akukulya@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Brett Hobson
Project Icon

LRAUV

Brett Hobson

Co-Principal Investigator



hobson@mbari.org

Portrait of 		Amanda Besaw
Project Icon

LRAUV

Amanda Besaw

Supporting Investigator



abesaw@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. Scott Socolofsky
Project Icon

AOSM

Project Icon

MIPM

Dr. Scott Socolofsky

Principal Investigator



ssocolofsky@civil.tamu.edu

Portrait of 		Rob Bochenek
Project Icon

AIS-PAC

Project Icon

HIOMAS

Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

AIFC

Rob Bochenek

Principal Investigator



rob@axiomdatascience.com

Portrait of 		Dr. Marcus Boyd
Project Icon

Arctic GIS

Dr. Marcus Boyd

Principal Investigator



boydma@umd.edu

Portrait of 		Buddy Custard
Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Buddy Custard

Principal Investigator



bcustard@ak-mprn.org

Portrait of 		Dr. Patrick Tomco
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Dr. Patrick Tomco

Principal Investigator



pltomco@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Dr. Christoph Aeppli
Project Icon

Arctic Copepods

Dr. Christoph Aeppli

Principal Investigator



caeppli@bigelow.org

Portrait of 		Dr. David Fields
Project Icon

Arctic Copepods

Dr. David Fields

Principal Investigator



dfields@bigelow.org

Portrait of 		Dr. Nancy Kinner
Project Icon

Arctic Maritime Spills Modeling

Dr. Nancy Kinner

Principal Investigator



Nancy.Kinner@unh.edu

Portrait of 		Kari Walker
Project Icon

MIPM

Kari Walker

Supporting Investigator



Kari.Walker@intellisensemarine.com

Portrait of 		Kevin Hand
Project Icon

MIPM

Kevin Hand

Project Co-Investigator



kevin.hand@intellisensemarine.com

Portrait of 		Katrina Counihan
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Katrina Counihan



katrinac@alaskasealife.org

Portrait of 		Nathan Lamie
Project Icon

MIPM

Nathan Lamie



nathan.j.lamie@usace.army.mil

Portrait of 		Art Wright
Project Icon

MIPM

Art Wright



artw@wassoc.com

Portrait of 		Mike Williamson
Project Icon

MIPM

Mike Williamson



mikew@wassoc.com

Portrait of 		Colin McGill
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Colin McGill



cmmcgill@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Kathy Mandanger
Project Icon

Arctic Maritime Spills Modeling

Kathy Mandanger



kathy.mandsager@unh.edu

Portrait of 		Phoebe Anne Zito
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Phoebe Anne Zito



pazito@uno.edu

Portrait of 		Aarron Poe
Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Aarron Poe



apoe@alaskaconservation.org

Portrait of 		Buddy Custard
Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Buddy Custard



bcustard@ak-mprn.org

Portrait of 		Ed Page
Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Ed Page



edpage@mxak.org