Researchers

Portrait of 		Christoph
			 		Aeppli
Project Icon

Arctic Copepods

Dr. Christoph Aeppli

Principal Investigator



caeppli@bigelow.org

Portrait of 		Jereme
			 		Altendorf
Project Icon

UAS

CDR Jereme Altendorf

Advisory Team



Portrait of 		James
			 		Bellingham
Project Icon

LRAUV

Dr. James Bellingham

Principal Investigator



jbellingham@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Amanda
			 		Besaw
Project Icon

LRAUV

Amanda Besaw

Supporting Investigator



abesaw@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Scott
			 		Blough

Scott Blough

ADAC Affiliate



bloughs@tiffin.edu

Portrait of 		Rob
			 		Bochenek
Project Icon

AIS-PAC

Project Icon

HIOMAS

Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

AIFC

Rob Bochenek

Principal Investigator



rob@axiomdatascience.com

Portrait of 		Marcus
			 		Boyd
Project Icon

Arctic GIS

Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Dr. Marcus Boyd

Principal Investigator



boydma@umd.edu

Portrait of 		Shawn
			 		Butler
Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Project Icon

Arctic GIS

Dr. Shawn Butler

Supporting Investigator



sabutler2@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Matthew
			 		Calhoun
Project Icon

ERI

Dr. Matthew Calhoun

Principal Investigator



Portrait of 		Douglas
			 		Causey
Project Icon

AAMCCA

Douglas Causey

Principal Investigator


907.786.1310
dcausey@alaska.edu

Douglas Causey, PhD

Douglas Causey is Principal Investigator of the Department of Homeland Security Arctic Domain Awareness Center of Excellence and Professor of Biological Sciences at UAA. He also serves as Senior Advisor on Arctic Policy to the Chancellor at the University of Alaska Anchorage. He arrived to UAA in June 2005 from Harvard University where he was Senior Fellow of the Kennedy School of Government and Senior Biologist at the Museum of Comparative Zoology. From 1995 - 2000, Doug represented the National Science Foundation at organizational meetings leading to the formation of the Arctic Council and was NSF’s Arctic Representative during the Gore-Chernomyrdin negotiations on US-Russian Science Policy. An ecologist and evolutionary biologist by training, he has authored over one hundred ninety publications on topics as diverse as the biology of Arctic marine birds, high Arctic coastal systems, and bat-borne diseases. His research focuses on the environmental correlates of Arctic climate change, and he and his students are actively conducting research in the Aleutian Islands, the northern Bering Sea, and Northwestern Greenland. His Greenlandic research efforts are funded by the National Science Foundation and are components of the Piniariarneq and Pikialasorsuaq initiatives. He has published extensively on policy issues related to the Arctic environment, Arctic environmental security, and bioterrorism and public health. He and Maj Gen (ret.) Randy Kee jointly offer the policy course “Arctic Environmental Security” through the University of Alaska and the UArctic, and which is attended by students throughout the Arctic region.
Portrait of 		Katrina
			 		Counihan
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Katrina Counihan

Support Team



katrinac@alaskasealife.org

Portrait of 		Brenda
			 		Dunkle

Brenda Dunkle

ADAC Affiliate



brenda_dunkle@hotmail.com

Portrait of 		David
			 		Fields
Project Icon

Arctic Copepods

Dr. David Fields

Principal Investigator



dfields@bigelow.org

Portrait of 		Kelsey
			 		Frazier
Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

AOSM

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Kelsey Frazier

Research Associate


907.602.6543
kafrazier@alaska.edu

Kelsey “Doc Freeze” Frazier

Kelsey “Doc Freeze” Frazier is an avid Alaskan outdoorswoman but a consistently slow runner. She would argue, though, that being the slowest runner of the group means you get more time to enjoy being outside! It was her indefatigable love of all things outdoors that led Kelsey to pursue a career promoting both human and environmental safety. Kelsey began her tenure with ADAC as a fellow where she supported projects investigating oil spill remediation in the Arctic, the complexities of sea ice substructures, and where she laid the groundwork for what is now the Arctic Ice Condition Index (ARCTICE). After graduating in December of 2019 with her B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Kelsey continued in a new role at ADAC as a Research Associate. Currently she supports the advancement of the ARCTICE project, participates in an international sea ice modeling colloquium, and is working to develop new projects to support a safer Arctic region.
Portrait of 		Jessica
			 		Garron
Project Icon

UAS

Dr. Jessica Garron

Principal Investigator



jigarron@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Margaret
			 		Hall
Project Icon

UAS

Margaret Hall

Supporting Investigator



Portrait of 		Kevin
			 		Hand
Project Icon

MIPM

Kevin Hand

Project Co-Investigator



kevin.hand@intellisensemarine.com

Portrait of 		John
			 		Henry
Project Icon

UAS

John Henry

Supporting Investigator



Portrait of 		Brett
			 		Hobson
Project Icon

LRAUV

Brett Hobson

Co-Principal Investigator



hobson@mbari.org

Portrait of 		Michael
			 		House
Project Icon

Arctic GIS

Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Joshua Michael House



jmhouse@umd.edu

Portrait of 		Mark
			 		Ivey
Project Icon

AAMCCA

Dr. Mark Ivey

Sandia National Laboratories



Portrait of 		Nancy
			 		Kinner
Project Icon

Arctic Maritime Spills Modeling

Dr. Nancy Kinner

Principal Investigator



Nancy.Kinner@unh.edu

Portrait of 		Amy
			 		Kukulya
Project Icon

LRAUV

Amy Kukulya

Principal Investigator



akukulya@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Nathan
			 		Lamie
Project Icon

MIPM

Nathan Lamie

Supporting Investigator



nathan.j.lamie@usace.army.mil

Portrait of 		Leslie-Ann
			 		Mcgee
Project Icon

LRAUV

Leslie-Ann Mcgee



lmcgee@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Colin
			 		McGill
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Colin McGill

Support Team



cmmcgill@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Jifeng
			 		Peng
Project Icon

ICECON

Project Icon

AOSM

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Project Icon

Storm Surge

Dr. Jifeng Peng

Principal Investigator



jpeng@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Aarron
			 		Poe
Project Icon

Arctic Geofencing

Aarron Poe



apoe@alaskaconservation.org

Portrait of 		Chris
			 		Reddy
Project Icon

LRAUV

Dr. Chris Reddy



creddy@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Jason
			 		Roe
Project Icon

AAMCCA

Jason Roe

Senior Research Professional


907.786.0427
jtroe2@alaska.edu

Jason “Olaf” Roe, Petty Officer, USCG (Ret)

Jason “Olaf” Roe, USCG (Ret), is the Associate Director and Senior Research Professional for the Arctic Domain Awareness Center (ADAC) at the University of Alaska, a DHS Center of Excellence. As Senior Research Professional, Mr. Roe’s mission is to provide USCG operator focused coordination, guidance, and support to ADAC research and guide project development to maximize CG operational relevance. Mr. Roe’s skill and experience with GIS systems, environmental models, and mission planning tools provides ADAC with valuable insight into CG operations. During his 12 years of service in Alaska, working with a wide range of Arctic stakeholders, Mr. Roe developed a respect and admiration for Arctic and rural Alaska, and is committed to increasing the safety and security of the Arctic Region through Community engagement and Operationally relevant research in support of the public good.
Portrait of 		Scott
			 		Socolofsky
Project Icon

AOSM

Project Icon

MIPM

Dr. Scott Socolofsky

Principal Investigator



ssocolofsky@civil.tamu.edu

Portrait of 		Patrick
			 		Tomco
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Dr. Patrick Tomco

Principal Investigator



pltomco@alaska.edu

Portrait of 		Craig
			 		Tweedie
Project Icon

ASIP

Project Icon

ERI

Dr. Craig Tweedie

Principal Investigator



ctweedie@utep.edu

Portrait of 		Kari
			 		Walker
Project Icon

MIPM

Kari Walker

Supporting Investigator



Kari.Walker@intellisensemarine.com

Portrait of 		Patrick
			 		Whelan
Project Icon

LRAUV

Sean Patrick Whelan



swhelan@whoi.edu

Portrait of 		Mike
			 		Williamson
Project Icon

MIPM

Mike Williamson

Support Team



mikew@wassoc.com

Portrait of 		Art
			 		Wright
Project Icon

MIPM

Art Wright

Supporting Investigator



artw@wassoc.com

Portrait of 		Jinlun
			 		Zhang
Project Icon

HIOMAS

Project Icon

ARCTICE

Dr. Jinlun Zhang

Principal Investigator



zhang@apl.washington.edu

Portrait of 		Phoebe Anne
			 		Zito
Project Icon

Arctic Mussels

Phoebe Anne Zito



pazito@uno.edu

';