Annual Meeting Year 6
Project Image

ANNUAL MEETING 2020

Schedule

Meeting by Cisco Webex

May 14, 2020


Project Overview

The objective of this project is to identify the current state-of-the-art Arctic maritime oil spill response modeling, potential integration of these models, and specifics needs to be addressed to obtain models that will be functional and effective in the response time scale to advance the Federal On-Scene Coordinator’s decision making during an incident. This will be accomplished through an Arctic Maritime Spill Response Modeling workshop focused on goals to provide pathways towards a useful oil spill response model that will inform decision-makers during spills.

Welcome

7:00-7:10 AM AKDT
11:00-11:10 EDT

By: University of Alaska Anchorage Chancellor, Dr. Cathy Sandeen, followed by brief overview of Virtual meeting by ADAC Executive Director (ED), Maj Gen (Ret) Church Kee

Planned remarks

7:10-7:20 AM AKDT
11:10-11:20 AM EDT

By: Admiral Karl Schultz, 26th Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard

VIP Virtual “Fireside Chat”

7:25-8:05 AM AKDT
11:25-12:05 AM EDT

By: Mr. William Bryan, DHS Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Under Secretary for Science and Technology (SOPDUSST) provides an opening reflection, followed by a virtual “fireside chat” on current challenges and emerging technologies to address those challenges between Mr. Bryan and Assistant Secretary of Commerce & Deputy Director, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration, Dr. Tim Gallaudet, RDML, USN (Ret).

ADAC PI and RD reflectionscome

8:05-8:15 AM AKDT
11:50 AM-12:15 PM EDT

By: University of Alaska Anchorage Chancellor, Dr. Cathy Sandeen, followed by brief overview of Virtual meeting by ADAC Executive Director (ED), Maj Gen (Ret) Church Kee

Propeller Driven Long Range Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (LRAUV) System

8:15-8:50 AM AKDT
12:15-12:50 PM EDT

By: Dr. Jim Bellingham and Ms. Amy Kukulya, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and Mr. Brett Hobson, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

Oil Spill Modeling for Improved Response to Arctic Maritime Spills: The Path Forward

9:00-9:25 AM AKDT
1:00-1:25 PM EDT

By: Dr. Nancy Kinner, University of New Hampshire, Coastal Response Research Center, Center for Spills in the Environment

Mitigating the Damage to Arctic Copepods from Surface Oil Spills: When to Apply Dispersants

9:30-9:55 AM AKDT
1:30-1:55 PM EDT

By: Dr. Chris Aeppli and Dr. David Fields, Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences

Arctic All Hazards GIS Platform

10:00-10:25 AM AKDT
2:00-2:25 PM EDT

By: Dr. Marcus Boyd, researcher affiliated with the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), Emeritus DHS CoE, University of Maryland

Arctic Vessel Monitoring Geofencing/Alert Awareness

10:30-11:10 AM AKDT
2:30-3:15 PM EDT

By: CAPT Buddy Custard, USCG (Ret) and Dr. Shawn Butler, UAA

VIP Presentation: Research, Transition and Commercialization, brief reflections on the challenges and opportunities

11:15-11:30 AM AKDT
3:15-3:30 PM EDT

By: Mr. Robert Burns, Director, Office of Innovation and Collaboration (OIC) DHS S&T

Ice Conditions Index for the Great Lakes Region (ICECON) and Arctic ICECON

11:30-11:55 AM AKDT
3:30-3:55 PM EDT

By: Dr. Jifeng Peng, Dr. Shawn Butler and Kelsey Frazier, UAA

Photo-enhanced toxicity of dispersed and burned crude oil to Arctic mussels

12 Noon-12:25 PM AKDT
4:00-4:25 PM EDT

By: Dr. Pat Tomco, University of Alaska Anchorage College of Arts and Sciences

Marine Induced Polarization Methods for the Detection and Mapping of Oil in an Arctic Marine Oil Spill, including investigation of Oil within and under broken ice fields

12:30-12:55 PM AKDT
4:30-4:55 PM EDT

By: Dr. Scott Socolofsky, Texas A&M University and Ms. Kari Walker, Induced Polarization Associates, LLC

ADAC Education Program Update

1:00-1:15 PM AKDT
5:00-5:15 PM EDT

By: Ms. Ellee Matthews, ADAC Education and Administrative Manager and ADAC Fellows to be announced

Arctic Summer Intern Program (ASIP) ADAC EAM

1:15-1:30 PM AKDT
5:15-5:30 PM EDT

By: Ms. Ellee Matthews, and Dr Craig Tweedie, UTEP

ADAC Program Financial Review

1:30-1:40 PM AKDT
5:30-5:40 PM EDT

By: Fiscal Director, Ms. Heather Paulsen

Overview of Program Year 7 and beyond, along with new ADAC “in development/recently approved projects”

1:40-2:00 PM AKDT
5:40-6:00 PM EDT

By: associated with Arctic IoNS 2019 (overview provided by ADAC ED

Close of ADAC Annual Meeting (for planned presentations)

2:10 PM AKDT
6:10 PM EDT